Gallery

Josh Cellars 2012 Cabernet Sauvignon


John Wine Snob says:

You must be Joshin’ me. This Josh Cellars 2012 Cabernet Sauvignon from California fooled me. I was expecting a typical Cab, but ‘twas not to be. It was only $7.99, and I thought I might taste that overpowering vanilla that normally is present with a Cab, so I roasted a duck and served it with some baby rainbow carrots and wild rice with almonds thinking I would offset the vanilla with the duck oil and richness of the carrots. As it turned out there was no vanilla in the nose or on the tongue (unless I offset it into oblivion). The wine was rich and unctuous and rolled around well with the duck oil. It also had some very nice winter fruit essences that mad me a little sad when the bottle was finished. I am almost giving this one 4 stars, but not quite. Let’s say 3 stars.

photo 8

Leave a Reply

