Gallery

Oyster Bay Sauvignon Blanc


 

John Wine Snob says:

 

I am not happy. I took a seat at the bar at Whole Foods as I have done several times before. Everyone there has usually been helpful and personable, but not today. Next time I am there I will peek around the corner first and if the oaf who was behind the bar is there again, I will go elsewhere. I sat while in plain view while the big load ignored me and talked to a young woman for several minutes before even acknowledging my presence. Perhaps he did not see me…Oh, c’mon, man! I am 240 pounds and right in front of his face. The young woman finally left after saying twice, “I need to continue with my shopping.” The smitten baboon would not let her go. I think she could see that I was getting a little annoyed. Finally I asked numbskull about the white wine that was being poured that day. Curtly, he said, almost before I even finished the sentence, “We are out of it.” I asked for the other wine being featured. “Out of it too.” No suggestions or offers of other wines. I asked for a glass of the New Zealand Oyster Bay Sauvignon Blanc 2013 for $7 a glass. He turned and poured and out it in front of me without a word. I started to ask for a glass of water and he was already turning around and walking away. I mumbled a few unsavory words under my breath. The guy sitting a few stools from me giggled and said he got the same treatment. After a couple of minutes I got the water buffalo’s attention and said, “I would like a glass of water.” He answered, “I know. I heard you the first time.” If he did why did it take him another three minutes to pour it. I got up and moved to a table. All I wanted was a friggin’ glass of wine and some flabby doofus did his best to spoil it. As it turned out I was not terribly impressed by the Oyster Bay Sauvignon Blanc anyway. First of all fat boy served it too cold. Secondly it was overpowered by grapefruit aroma and taste. I could probably have it again if I were on the beach on a hot day and had a nice plate of shellfish and a nice view. I will give the wine 2 stars and the butt face behind the bar 0.

Oyster Bay NZ

Leave a Reply

