Gallery

Pillsbury Wine Co. Roan Red Grenache 2011


 

John Wine Snob says: Mrs. Wine Snob and I went to Pizzeria Bianco at Town and Country for my birthday. It was a great choice. Owner Chris Bianco is one of the best chefs around, and it is so much more than pizza. I had a caprese salad with Chris’s own Mozzerella,   and home grown tomatoes and herbs. We both  had paparadelle with beef bolognese and we split a side of locally made Shreiner’s  fennel sausage. All exquisite. Chris uses local products as much as possible. All that said, I wanted an Arizona wine to top it off, and there were several on the list. I selected the Pillsbury Wine Co. Roan Red Grenache 2011. Sooooo….good. I had never had this $48 Cochise County beauty before. It’s color was very rich and it bursted with strawberry flavors. The waitress described it as citrusy, but I got no feel of citrus. Maybe a little chocolate?…. Hooray for Arizona wines. They are really coming of age. I am rating this one with 4 big AZ stars.

pillsbury

Leave a Reply

