Gallery

Ipsus Panayellaria 2008


I don’t often drink sweet wines, but today I has the desire to drink out of some cut chrystal wine glasses we bought in Petaluma, California some years ago. They are the perfect dessert wine glasses, and we had the perfect dessert; pear almond tarts from the French Grocery in Phoenix. The Ipsus Panayellaria 2008 from Marbala, Italy was the perfect accompaniment. It is sweet but clean. It is bubbly with fruit, but not cloyingly syrupy. It took me back to my childhood neighborhood and all of our Italian neighbors. All of their candies and sweeties fascinated me as I ate the and enjoyed watching my parents drink Italian brandies and dessert wines with the Allessendrellis, the Manos, the Porkos, and the Sidos. Thanks for the memories. You get three stars.Ipsus

Leave a Reply

