Gallery

Chateau De Parva Minervois 2010


 

John Wine Snob says:

 

I am still drinking this one as I type. The Chateau De Parva Minervois 2010 is one really great wine for $12. This wine is an AOC (Controlled Designation of Origin) from on of my favorite places in France, the Languedoc-Roussillon wine region.  It is required to be a blend, and this one is certainly very sophisticated with some Grenache, some Carignan and probably some Syrah among others. It is a little like your French lover: A bit aggressive at first, but an unforgettable experience. I wanted the perfect meal for this one. It had to be simple enough to allow her to take control but suave and cultured enough to create a symbiosis (am I still talking about wine?) I made bison steaks with loads of garlic and thinly sliced leeks, potatoes fried with rosemary and herbs from the garden, and an heirloom tomato and feta salad. I think I hit the nail on the head. Ka-boom! A great combo. The wine has a taste that comes from that wonderful rocky and dry Southern French soil. It has a complicated fruit and berry fusion with a little tongue sting on the intake and a coolness on the exhale. This discovery came one afternoon when Jeff Wine Snob and I went to the French Grocery on 7th Avenue and Missouri in Phoenix. Owners Kevin and Erin have amassed a great and varied collection of wines to suit all tastes. French cheeses, patés and pasties abound as well. I will give this one four stars for being the star of my evening.

 

 

Chateau de Paraza

Leave a Reply

