Gallery

Panilonco Chardonnay/ Viognier 2010


Panilonco

John Wine Snob says:

I am being generous with wine ratings lately, and I think it is because I have been having my wines with some really nice foods. Since retiring I have had more time to indulge in another passion of mine – cooking. And of course –eating. We started with a salad of multi-colored tomatoes, onions and herbs. Then I pan fried some rainbow trout filets in a garlic olive oil with lots of chopped garlic and a chiffonade of fresh herbs from the garden. I also made broccoli with tons of Russian butter and sugar crusted slivered almonds. For dessert Mrs. Wine Snob and I had fresh whole mission figs with softened Gorgonzola. I had had the Panilonco 2010 Chardonnay/Viognier from Chile before, but I did not remember it. It was already in the refrigerator so I thought,”What the hell?” and took a chance. It is cheap, to be sure, so I set my bar a little low for this one. To my delight, it was just what the doctor ordered. It was crisp and citrusy which balanced the sweetness of the broccoli and complemented the herbed trout very well. This wine also has a slight fizz to it so when we had the figs and Gorgonzola, it made a nice un-sweet dessert wine.  On another day I might have given this wine 2.5 stars, but my contentedness cranked it up to 3 stars.

Leave a Reply

