Gallery

Gaetano D’Aquino Pinot Grigio


 

John Wine Snob says: I put a big mess of vegetables on the grill; asparagus, artichoke, purple carrots, rutabagas, banana squash, leeks, and bok choy and then hunted for a wine to do it justice. It happened to be a Gaetano D’Aquino Pinot Grigio Delle Venezie 2009 from Italy. The bottle was finished before the vegetables were done so I had to find another to go with the meal, but that is another story. This Pinot Grigio had an odd beginning. When I opened it I smelled an unusual sweetness for a Pinot Grigio, but when I tasted the sweetness thankfully was gone. I got a mouthful of citrus especially grapefruit. There was also a nice fresh grassy quality. It is a nice wine to kick off the summer and my retirement. This paisano gets three stars from me.

gaetano grigio

Leave a Reply

