Gallery

Hopper Creek Winery Merlot 2007


I met Dieter at Bistro Jeanty , ( A lovely French restaurant in Yountville ). He is a very amiable fellow with a gentle demeanor and passionate about his wines and winery.He invited  me out to his lovely winery south of town where I met his winemaker Barry Grushkowitz and got a personal tour. They have a small boutique winery specializing in Merlot, Chardonnay and Cabernet wIMG_5580IMG_5575IMG_5573here the wines are pressed by hand! Yes hand pressed in fact they invite people to   the September and October months to help with the first press using hands.( I plan on going during this time to experience this !) I tasted several of his wines with my favorite being the 2007 Merlot. mildly spicy with some earth, dark berry flavors and well rounded with just the right amount of oak., $35. a bottle

Thanks Dieter for the tasting and tour…I’ll be back !

 

Leave a Reply

