Gallery

Voga Pinot Grigio


 

John Wine Snob says:

 

I was in Fry’s Supermarket the other day looking for a wine to go with ratatouille.  I make a great ratatouille by the way. I usually don’t have much luck with wine in Fry’s, but I saw an unusual bottle. It was the same bottle in which you get Voss Water. Hmmm…curious, I thought. It can’t be that good. It was a Voga Pinot Grigio Delle Venezie with no vintage for $9.99. I am usually skeptical about funny bottles, funny labels, and funny names, but I threw it in the basket along with the squash, zucchini, tomatoes, eggplants, garlic and peppers. I got it home and went out to harvest some herbs from the garden. I have some nice thyme (an essential in ratatouille), oregano, orange mint, basil, red onion shoots and Italian parsley. Hey, there is a meal in itself. While preparing the ratatouille in the wok I opened the bottle surprised to find a cork under the plastic cap, so that may have been a good sign. I opened it and could immediately smell a fresh tomato vine aroma and a nice bit of grass and springtime soil. When I tasted, I thought of the flavor of a really good greenish-white honeydew melon that is still slightly crisp just before it is fully soft and ripe. I love that freshness. I was already happy. It was so good with the ratatouille that I had to call Jeff Wine Snob and tell him about it. He had just gotten out of a cold pool and I thought a wet Jeff needs a brandy. I don’t know if he had one, but no matter. The Voga and ratatouille were thoroughly enjoyed by Mrs. Wine Snob and myself.

 

Three stars go to this nice surprise.

Voga Pinot Grigio

Leave a Reply

