Gallery

Chalone Pinot Noir 2006


I’ve always enjoyed Chalone..it was one of my favorite wines when I lived in Manhattan beach, CA in the early 80’s…It was great… that is until In 2005, The Chalone Wine Group was purchased by beverage giant Diageo. I’ve always thought that they dummied down the wines and made them with less care..Case in point: I bought 2 bottles of the 2006 Pinot  at BEVMO for about $18. I opened the one bottle and what I got was a retsina from California ( Not from Greece! )

Either the wine was over the hill or stored in a container in Arizona in August!I dared not open the second in case I was to experience it twice!  Needless to say ..I took them back for a refund..so my question..Was this wine being dumped at Bevmo for the duped clients?

 

 
Chalone Estate Pinot Noir 2006

Leave a Reply

