Gallery

Opolo Summit Creek Zinfandel 2008


 

John wine Snob says:

 

Two or three weeks ago I bought a bottle of 2008 Opolo Summit Creek Zinfandel at AJ’s for $30. I have been waiting for the right time to try it and it took a while for that time to come around. I had it while painting in the studio. This is an artist’s wine. I had the Opolo Zin a few years ago and knew it was a very special wine. I had not even seen a bottle in several years, but I remembered, oh, I remembered, but began to wonder if my memories of this gem would not live up to the reality of today’s opening. Would it be like one of those secret childhood places that one returns to only to find that it is smaller and less wonderous? The sommelier at AJ’s said it was juicy. I had another sommelier once tell me it was jammy. Are those the only adjectives they have to describe a noble grape such as the Zinfandel? In a previous review I said I would do bodily harm to the next waiter or sommelier who described a Zin as such, but I controlled myself.

 

I uncorked it and what a beautiful deep rich color. It was like garnet, my birthstone.It lived up to my expectation. Whew! This is a very enigmatic wine, full of fruit and aggression like a beautiful and lusty woman.This is the first time I will give  four stars to a wine.

 

One response to “Opolo Summit Creek Zinfandel 2008

  1. The only childhood memories I have are those of getting beat up by my brother. I remember and his time is coming……………..

Leave a Reply

