Gallery

Apothic Red Blend 2009


 

John Wine Snob says:

 

The Apothic Winemaker’s Blend 2009 at $9.99 is sort of a surprise. When I opened the bottle the rich deepness of the color was very attractive. I could smell a little sweetness and when I tasted I suspected there was some added sugar, although it was not overpowering or cloying. On the contrary I think it was a unifying force for the blend of Zinfandel, Cabernet Sauvignon, Syrah, and Merlot. This wine has a nice texture like swallowing a mouthful of silk dipped soaked in some slightly over ripe fruit. If one focuses one can find a little chocolate and certainly the vanilla from the Cab shows through a little. It needs a rich food. Chicken is not it, you might think, but I made it with a heavy cream sauce, vegetables, and mushrooms and lit it with some brandy and that matched the mouthful of flavors. Next time I will try it with some really nice chocolate.

 

I will give this three stars.

 

Leave a Reply

