Les Portes de Bordeaux, 2009


A little mint initially, but after breathing it is lost. Some really nice oak. It then rounds itself off and becomes wonderfully chewy. I would have it with a big fat steak or maybe with some ofther animal that suffered and died for the pleasure of others.

3 responses to “Les Portes de Bordeaux, 2009

  1. I agree with your rating, though mine was not minty but more fruity and bready. I quoted your thoughts on my blog yesterday.

  2. Agreed on the minty forward flavor. Its also rather thin in the beginning. As you said, give it a moment to open.

  3. I agree the thegourmez. I immediately nosed the fruity bouquet immediately after breaking the synthetic cork. Only needed to breath a few minutes. Went wonderfully with rib-eye steak! I even had a small glass from a leftover opened bottle the next day and it still tasted great. This has a full palate and drinks like a $20+ bottle of wine.

Leave a Reply

