Gallery

OP Tempranillo 2011


 

John Wine Snob says:

 

I figured at $3.99, what do I have to lose? I have said that many times and often I lost the $3.99 and have nothing to show for it. This was not one of those times. I found a bottle of OP Tempranillo 2011 at Sprouts. Tempranillo is the signature grape of Spain, and I would fight someone over a good one. This one was worth fighting for. It is a great Phoenix summertime wine. It is sort of light and would do well with a slight chill. It reminded me of when I was a kid and my Mom would give us a slice of watermelon and yell at us to take it outside. It was a dribbling and juicy wine with lots of cherry and other bubbly berry flavors. It was Mother’s Day and the in-laws came over. I threw some shrimp and lamb chops on the Bar B and Mrs. wine snob made a Caprese salad. There was caviar, blini, and rivers of sour cream in the Russian style. I had a couple of glasses of the OP then chased it with some vodka. Then a couple more glasses of OP and then more vodka…I think you get the idea. The wine was a nice surprise for such a cheapie. I will give it 3.5 stars.

OP Tempranillo 11

Leave a Reply

